Famous 0.3, AMD to CommonJS

In case any one’s interested, I converted Famous 0.3 from AMD-CommonJS hybrid to CommonJS. I did this because I’ve ported my personal site from a Node/express+JSPM setup to Meteor+Webpack, and Meteor’s new module system only supports ES2015 Modules and CommonJS, and I didn’t want to write some parts of my old experiments, so the conversion makes Famous 0.3 compatible in Meteor’s module system. I’m remaking the main part of my site with my prototype. I’ll post that soon!

Thanks Joe. I will be needing this in the near future (could use it now!) as I am creating my own modules to be shared between a node instance and the browser+famous.

However, I would really love to convert the famous 0.3.5 build environment (requirejs seed), to work with commomJS modules as well, i.e. replacing AMD and Almond. Any pointers or resource links on how to do this without breaking the remaining CI features on the seed?

I am a relative noob to JS and its support tools, so any help is greatly appreciated!

@dwardoh Where’s the requirejs seed? Is it this one?

Take a look at how the build system is here (you may have to read Webpack docs to understand it better). Then, I’d suggest for you to do something similar to that (using Webpack, but you can also use Browserify). I also have a webpack-based npm-package skeleton. You could adopt that, and then run npm run build in order to build your app. It includes ES6/7 via Babel.

In your package.json you can list the famous dependency like this:

"famous": "trusktr/famous#commonjs"

so that when you run npm install in your project it will get my CommonJS version.

Let me know if you have any questions! :}

@trusktr Thanks so much for your response! Yes that is the one I am using. Ideally I’d like to convert that to use commonJS modules.